Max Roach Quartet East Berlin 1984

After digitizing the video of Anthony Braxton in East Berlin 1985, I discovered another interesting video on the same old VHS cassette. It’s also from the Jazzbühne series, but a year earlier than the Braxton concert. This one shows Max Roach with Odean Pope, Cecil Bridgewater and Tyrone Brown – Roach’s classic quartet of the 1980s –, filmed on July 16, 1984  in East Berlin.

I have only put up “Perdido” which was the last track of the regular set (before encores), the TV broadcast also ends here. I am sorry for the sound being only on one channel. The complete concert (including encores) was released semi-legally on a CD in the early 1990s as Repertoire (G)REPCD4902-CC.

As you see from the back liner, “Perdido” was not the only piece of classicism the Roach Quartet had to offer that night:

Maybe I  will put up more footage of this concert at later date, let’s see.

3 Responses to “Max Roach Quartet East Berlin 1984”

  1. Please do put up more footage! What a great take on Perdido!
    (I don’t know it was from the deteriorated VHS tape, or the transfer that left channel was mute – just some clicking sounds and a constant hiss)

    • Oh, I did not notice that, I am sorry. I just checked and it is that way on my VHS copy. I’ll see that I will put the sound on both channels if I ever put up more from this concert,

  2. [...] I put up the 1984 clip of the Max Roach Quartet playing “Perdido” in East Berlin back in January 2012 I received some requests for more from this TV Broadcast from [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

