Matthew Shipp / Sabir Mateen, Zurich 2012

Althouh this blog is subtitled “Jump, Jazz, Jive, Vintage R’n’B”, from time to time what you get to see and hear here is some classic Free Jazz. After all this the music that I started out with when I became a jazz fanatic – working my way back in time (from Albert Ayler to Coleman Hawkins, from Sun Ra to Duke, Basie, Lunceford).

Now two weeks ago at the Taktlos Festival which is dedicated to improvised music they had pianist Matthew Shipp again (he was at the Taktlos in 1998). This time he was playing in a duo situation with clarinetist/saxophonist Sabir Mateen. I am offering you a fifteen minute excerpt here. The stupid split screen effect comes from a column in the room. What was I thinking when I placed myself there? A reviewer from one of the local newspapers called this “classic boring free jazz”. Well, classic, yes. Boring? Not for me, I enjoyed it very much. But decide for yourself:

Enjoy!

One Response to “Matthew Shipp / Sabir Mateen, Zurich 2012”

  1. Wow, thanks a lot! I was there, and I think said reviewer needs his hearing fixed (and his esteemed paper needs someone slightly more open about the jazz tradition to cover such events, he may have his merits in other areas, but his jazz coverage is rather pedestrian).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

