R.I.P. Roy Campbell jr.

royRoy Campbell jr. in Leverkusen, November 1, 1986

It is only just now that I hear of the passing of trumpeter Roy Campbell jr. who died on January 9th – the same day that Amiri Baraka passed. Campbell only reached the age of 62. I saw him playing on two or three occasions in the 1980s and remember liking his playing very much. Wanting to listen to him again now, I find to my surprise I unfortunately have not one record featuring him. But only some weeks ago I happened to digitize a brilliant 45 minute TV broadcast with the quintet of another Great Black Music Legend, Billy Bang, who already had left us in 2011.  Campbell is the other main solist besides Bang.

So here is the Billy Bang Quintet at the Jazztage Leverkusen on November 1, 1986. Besides Bang and Roy Campbell the band contains Oscar Sanders (g) William Parker (b) and Zen Matsuura (dr).

Enjoy!

4 Responses to “R.I.P. Roy Campbell jr.”

  1. sweet! this is really special – thanks for posting it!

  2. I want to know if their is other footage of me playing with Billy and Roy in Europe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

