The ominous Rashied Ali at the Boltax LP

In this post, I presented documents of a concert by the Rashied Ali Quartet 1979  in N.Y.C. The gig was taped and photographed by my friend, the late jazz researcher Otto Flückiger. Among the things I presented is a 27 minute audio excerpt in so and so quality.

A few days ago, I noticed a sudden increase in people interested in that blog post, and wondered why this would be so. So while googling for “Rashied Ali” and “Boltax”, I found, that some *[&**!! has loaded down that mp3, as well as some of the photos from my blog post and made a “limited edition LP” of supposedly 45 pieces out of it. Some “nightshift” pressing maybe?

Now one of these found a buyer who was willing to pay over hundred dollars for it.

boot jpg

I have to say that I find this a bit shabby. Of course one can argue that this blog here might be acting immoral as well. After all I have been presenting music here which I do not really have the rights to present. But I am never offering any music that is legally vailable, nor would I ever try to earn any money on a musician’s back. Up to now I only had positive responses from musicians or from relatives of deceased musicians to what I do.

SO THIS IS TO LET YOU ALL KNOW THAT NEITHER  I NOR THIS BLOG NOR LITTLE ROCKET RECORDS HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH THIS RECORD!

I know how attractive things like this are (limited! only 45 copies!), but I encourage anyone to think twice before bidding on this thing. You can have the music here for free. Of course: Rashied Ali’s estate does not profit from the music presented here. But if it does not, I think no-one should.

I am 99  percent sure that the mp3 from my old blog post is the source for this LP, but I have not yet seen a copy of the record. Does anyone own it and can confirm that it’s about 27 minutes long?

 

Thanks!

 

4 Responses to “The ominous Rashied Ali at the Boltax LP”

  1. Jaime Jaramillo Says:

    It’s really disgusting that anyone profits from your work, specially the wonderful things you have posted and I would like to congratulate and at the same to thank you for the videos on Earl Hines, my favorite pianist whom I had the pleasure of seeing at a concert presented by the Overseas Press Club in Manhattan in the late 70’s with Eubie Blake and Billy Taylor. And my appreciation for the historical work done by the late jazz researcher Otto Flückiger

  2. woodyshaw Says:

    Thanks. This is eye opening.

    Do you have any more Woody shaw in the vault?

    Best, Woody Shaw III

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

