The Great Earl Hines

Here are two nice videos by Earl Hines’ band. The first comes from a concert at the Wolf Trap Park Jazz Festival in Virginia, 1976:

The band is:

Hines (p), Rudy Rutherford (cl, ts), Eddie Graham (b), Harvey White (d) and Marva Josie (voc). They play an unidentified tune, “Deed I Do” and “Boogie Woogie on St. Louis Blues”

The second one comes from the Berlin Jazztage in (probably) 1980:

The band here: Earl Hines (piano), Heywood Henry (cl, bars), Larry Richardson (b), Richie Goldberg (dr) and vocalist Marva Josie.

They play: “Easy To Love”, “I Feel So Smoochie”, “Flowers” and “Things Ain’t What They Used To Be”.

Hope you enjoy these gems !

One Response to “The Great Earl Hines”

  1. […] If you have not seen the other Earl Hines clips, they are here. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: