Ornette Coleman Prime Time Lugano 1991

Yes, I know, the Free Funk Universe that Ornette Coleman has created with his Prime Time Band is not to everybody’s taste. I myself like almost everything Ornette ever did, so it’s a pity I did not get to see him play during the last twenty years or so, since he never made it to a town close to me.

But happily today I found a TV broadcast of the Prime Time Band’s appearance at the Estival Jazz in Lugano on  July 4, 1991 on one of Otto’s VHS cassettes. So right away I am presenting you the track Spelling The Alphabet, which was the last tune of Ornette’s set on this evening.

The personnel: Ornette Coleman: alto; Dave Bryant: keyb, p; Ken Wessel: eg; Chris Rosenberg: eg; Al MacDowell: eb; Badal Roy: tabla, perc; Denardo Coleman: dr.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

