Memphis Slim in Montreux (1973)

memphis

snapshot from video

While digitizing the Donald Byrd footage from Montreux, I discovered a nice thirty minutes of video featuring blues piano legend Memphis Slim from the same festival. Since I synchronized the whole VHS cassette, I thought I might as well put it up on youtube as well. Memphis Slim is one of my favorite blues singers, and I hope you like this clip as much as I do.

Slim is accompanied by legendary session guitarist Mickey Baker, bassist Benny Turner and drummer Charles Meyers.

Note: I just got the message from youtube that this video might not be viewable in different countries. So I am sorry if this happens in your country.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

