Art Ensemble Of Chicago, Sardegna 1974

Listening to a lot Sun Ra, Albert Ayler, Cecil Taylot at home, I usually do not agree with people who say that Free Jazz is something only to be enjoyed at concerts because seeing the musicians helps you to understand what they are up to.  It was always different for me with the Art Ensemble Of Chicago. Although I have a few records by the AEOC, they never touched me in a way nearly every Sun Ra album does. This is a band where in my regard the visual element is missing when you hear a recording.

It is hard too find much pre-1980 footage of the Art Ensemble Of Chicago. So I am very lucky to have found over 46 minutes of Lester Bowie, Joseph Jarman, Roscoe Mitchell, Malachi Favors and Don Moye at a Jazz Festival in Sardegna in 1974 on one of Otto Flückiger’s old VHS-cassettes. which I am presenting you here.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

