Montreux Solo Piano: Ray Bryant / Andrew Hill

rayshotRay Bryant in Montreux 1972.

hillshotAndrew Hill in Montreux 1975.

In the 1970s the Montreux Jazz Festival alwas presented at least one solo piano concert. For example in 1974 there were concerts by Earl Hines and by Cecil Taylor, which I did present here.  Since I noticed that that blog entry gathered some interest, I decided to look if there’s some more solo piano from Montreux in the vast collection of my late friend Otto Flückiger. And there is!

 

First from June 23, 1972, we have Ray Bryant’s appearance. At least parts of his set were released on this Atlantic LP

rblp

Since I do not own this LP, I can not tell you what parts of it are in the TV footage. Both the record and the video start with Gotta Travel On.

The other solo piano clip from Montreux I found comes from July 20, 1975. This concert by Andrew Hill also resulted in an LP:

ahlp

But again, I am not able to compare the contents, also because I do not know Hills 1970’s repertoire very good.

Enjoy!

One Response to “Montreux Solo Piano: Ray Bryant / Andrew Hill”

  1. Desbouvrie Jean-Pierre Says:

    About Ray Bryant alone at Montreux , “Slow freight” and “Little Susie” are not on clip but on LP. worry

Leave a Reply

